Why Not Ask the Students?

Screenshot of "Garys Social Media Count"
Image via Wikipedia

In what I think will be an interesting experiment, and perhaps a model for the rest of us, the Corning-Painted Post Area School District in New York has given its high school students the responsibility of crafting a social media policy for the District. Colleague Bill Cameron, Public Information Coordinator at Corning, contacted me about this initiative, which is already getting extensive press attention for obvious reasons. It’s important to note that the students researched the topic of social media first, submitted a research paper and conducted a Powerpoint presentation for the Board of Education.The Board recently voted to permit the students to develop the policy. Good for them. I like seeing this kind of open-mindedness and collaboration with our young people, who, after all, know the topic. It’s also a lesson. How can adults develop social media policies if they’re not using those tools? Perhaps it’s time to learn. Here’s a look at a local news station’s piece on the Corning experiment:
[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/hqpJgpTubwI%2Em4v%5D
 

Enhanced by Zemanta

3 thoughts on “Why Not Ask the Students?

  1. How fascinating. This is definitely one to watch if not from a did it or didn’t it work, but rather from a what can we learn from it. You’re right on about adults establishing SM policies while having little to no experience. I’d be very interested to see the students’ presentation to the board.

    Thanks for sharing.

    1. Thanks for the comment, Richie, and I hope things are great in Texas. I know how busy you are — I follow the blog and your FB and Twitter posts. I recently presented to a large group of school superintendents and there were definitely a few who didn’t even understand some of my answers to their questions. I have to remind myself that when I say things like “You can subscribe to the RSS feeds and tweet about your accomplishments,” I still manage to lose a few people. I’m a bit shocked, though, too.

      1. I think we’ll continue to have the uninitiated to social media. That’s why it is so important for districts to have Communication/PR people who provide strategic leadership counsel on these types of things.

Leave a Reply

